What Motivates You?

Rumaisa Mughal
4 min readMar 2, 2017

Right after I graduated from college, I got a job in a big firm with a fancy office, extremely well managed operations, amazing perks, above market salary, nice people and the best work-life balance one could ask for. Sounds perfect, right? However, soon I realized I didn’t feel fulfilled. The foosball table, free lunches and company picnics had lost their excitement. The work was good, but it just wasn’t challenging anymore. Things started to seem easy, and I got bored because my learning had stopped.

Luckily I got an interview call from a small startup I hadn’t even applied to. Compared to my current 3 story office building, they had a tiny 450 sq. ft. single room office in a dingy building. The inside of the office was crammed with too much furniture in too little space. They offered me a base salary and nothing else; they had no perks to offer. To top it off, while I was still there, the office flooded with water! There wasn’t even a cleaner to clean the mess. I just sat there looking stupid and wondering why I had even come to this waste of a time interview. Who in their right mind would join their company, let alone leave the amazing job I had? But boy, never, had I been so wrong and presumptuous in life!

Minutes later, I was shown the portfolio of this tiny 7 people company, and I kid you not, my jaw dropped! The games these guys had created were so beautiful and top notch…

--

--

Rumaisa Mughal

Design Strategist | Anime Fanatic — People & Stories Make My Day!